Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 05-17-2009, 06:49 AM   #1
Mattpetro
Tile and Stone contractor

Copper Penny floor?

Hello everyone.
I recently joined the forum to seek any input on a new project I'm faced with. I'm a tile contractor/installer in N.J. with 13 yrs. experience with all types of materials, i.e. porcelain, natural stone, mosaic, etc.. I have a request from a customer to install a powder room floor (25 sq.ft.) consisting of copper pennies. Cement sub floor. We wish to use black grout and finish the surface with a polyurethane or lacquer to protect the floor and add a smooth, durable finish.
Has anyone out there ever had a similar project?
Should the pennies be set w/ epoxy mortar, or will the alkalinity from the portland eventually corrode the copper?
Poly or lacquer?

Any input from all you fine people would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time!
Mattpetro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-17-2009, 07:29 AM   #2
Splinter
Kitchen & Bath Remodeler Long Island

I cant comment on corrosion from portland, but use the polyurethane instead of lacquer... It's much more durable.
Old 05-17-2009, 07:34 AM   #3
Shaughnn
Trowel Monkey

Hi Matt,
Epoxy will likely be the most reliable bond. Since pennies have different metal content from each minting it's probably a good call to avoid cement products entirely. No telling how those various alloys will react.
I don't think that any clear coat is going to give you an advantage though. Eventually, it will wear through and you'll have the problem of repairing it to restore an even finish. Better to let the pennies wear naturally.
So, heads up or tails up?
Shaughnn
Shaughnn is offline   Reply With Quote