Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 07-03-2019, 11:27 AM   #1
Hammy2424

Kids Bathroom Redo - Kerdi and Hydroban Questions

All,

Thank everyone in advance for any and all help. I have done a number of tile projects and have normally found my answers just lurking and searching around. I looked around quite a bit on both of these and didn't find the exact answer. Answers, or direction to the proper thread is appreciated.

I will warn everyone in advance, I am a mechanical engineer by education, so...

Also love looking at all your work to admire and get ideas.

Now, onto my questions:

So, in thinking I was doing right (I guess looking at the Ditra install instructions I just assumed, I know, the Gypsum concrete was concrete backer board) I installed 1/4" Hardie on my new subfloor.

To get everything right, I pulled up the original subfloor, it was 5/8" ply with 1/2" ply glued and stapled then 6" porcelain.

To have a level tile to carpet transition, I sistered all 2x10 solid joists (max unsupported 11.5') with 2x10 shaved to 8.75" high. I then shaved the existing joists to a range of 8.75" to 9" where the floor would be. Also, ran cross bracing, you know just to over do it. Laid 2 layers, 23/32" plywood, bi-directionally.

Then, dun, dun, DUN. I installed 1/4" Hardie on the new floor. It is installed correctly with thinset underneath, and screwed with CBU screws. I now have a really solid floor at perfect height for Ditra, and 3/8" tile to be flush with the carpet. Was really after the additional mechanical relief and waterproofing from the Ditra.