Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 03-04-2018, 02:54 PM   #1
kk4560

Bath tub surround

I'm needing a little help here, This is my first time posting and I have a couple of questions that I need answered.
I'm redoing the tub/shower surround in a bathroom, Its down to bare studs right now. All walls are interior walls.
Now here's where I've seen a lot of different ways of doing this and it gets kind of confusing.
I will be going back up with Durock from the top of the tub to the ceiling. I was planning to coat the tile side of the Durock with Hydroban or Redguard and not putting a vapor barrier behind the Durock ( read that it will hold moisture) and then tiling over the Hydroban.
I was going to set the Durock 1/4" above the tub rim and set the tile 1/8" above the tub it self.
I was planning on sealing the seams in the Durock with fiberglass tape and Hydroban or Redguard annd running a strip of the fiberglass tape around the bottom of the Durock overlapping the top of the tub rim about a 1/2" inch or so and also coating that with Hydroban or Redguard.
Some of the people I've talked to have said not to worry about any moisture barrier behind or on the tile side of the Durock, Just tape the seams, Others have said they just coat the tile side of the Durock.
I've just about pulled my hair out over this one and I just want to get it right. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 03-04-2018, 03:14 PM   #2
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man