Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 01-11-2017, 02:12 PM   #1
frenchee

small shower pan

Hi all. I'm just starting my business as a handyman. I've self taught myself a lot on how to do anything construction related. This website is by far the best tile learning repository I have found. Kudos to all the experts who take the time to help out noobs like me, to helping each other in their craft.

So my deal is, I have not built a shower pan from scratch. I've tiled two shower walls, floors but have only dealt prefab pans in the past. Now, I've been hired to build a shower pan. Initially, I was going to use the goof-proof sticks but I trust my screeding skills enough to get by without the ugly risk associated with using that product. So after extensive research, I've hopefully figured everything into account save for just one thing... For a 36"x36" shower pan. Is it necessary to use metal lathe in pre-slope or the finished bed? I've read in so many places that it is only necessary in large format applications. I would be more comfortable omitting it.

thanks in advance,
Ryan
Unread 01-11-2017, 04:03 PM   #2
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, Ryan.

We need to know what kind of subfloor you have to answer your first question.

You do not need any reinforcing metal in the final mud bed of a traditionally built shower receptor of that size.

I would personally recommend you learn to use one of the newer direct bonded sheet-type waterproofing membranes to do your customers' showers.

My opinion; worth price charged.

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-11-2017, 05:44 PM   #3
rmckee84