Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet


Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > The Mud Box

Sponsors


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Unread 10-03-2012, 05:41 PM   #1
oakview
Retired Moderator - Owned by two rescued greyhounds
 
oakview's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oak View, CA
Posts: 3,137
Electrical Question

In the course of doing your business with tile, many of you guys must have had to reconnect wiring to outlets and such. Looking for ideas how to reconnect wires in a tricky (for me) situation.

Got a 3-gang box with a GFCI, and single rocker light switch, and a 3 rocker fan combo switch. 8 - 3 strand Romex cables terminate in this box for a total of 24 wires. Easy enough to take it all apart, but definitely harder to put it all back together after putting up new drywall.

Got any tips like numbering, grouping with tape, anything?
__________________
::DaveG::
The Tile and Stone Magazine for Consumers!
New to the Forum? Read this! :.: Click here to add your name to your signature.
"If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?." -John Wooden
oakview is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 10-03-2012, 05:48 PM   #2
Houston Remodeler
Pondering retirement daily

STAR Senior Contributor

 
Houston Remodeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 28,228
Take a picture or three before taking it apart.

Use colored electrical tape to mark the wires

Write things down.

Take as little apart as you need to, pulling the switches and GFI forward to get the drywall replaced.

When swapping out the switches, do one at a time.

And it sounds like the box is overloaded.
__________________
Paul1

For when DIY isn't such a good idea...
Houston TX area Kitchen & Bath Remodeling


http://CabotAndRowe.com
Houston Remodeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2012, 06:34 PM   #3
tilejoe
Registered User
 
tilejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Allentown, Bethlehem, Easton, PA
Posts: 2,302
You could always get a larger box with a smaller trim ring. Or make it into 2 separate boxes. 2 2gang boxes...
__________________
Joe Lenner

Infinite Ceramic & Stone
www.infiniteceramic.com
NTCA Pennsylvania State Rep
CTEF Certified Installer #769
tilejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2012, 07:06 PM   #4
oakview
Retired Moderator - Owned by two rescued greyhounds
 
oakview's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oak View, CA
Posts: 3,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by tilejoe
Or make it into 2 separate boxes. 2 2gang boxes...
It usta be two separate boxes. One was an original 2 gang, the other a singe that was retro-fitted and had them little ears to hold it against the drywall. I pewt everything into the 3 gang, now I gotta take it apart again and drywall the bathroom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CabotandRowe
And it sounds like the box is overloaded.
It's just under the limit. I bought a larger box, 50 c.i. - I have 22 conductor units calculated using the NEC tables, so 44 c.i. would be enough. Thanks for mentioning that though, it was totally by accident I got the bigger box. It wasn't until later that I found out about how to correctly size the box.
__________________
::DaveG::
The Tile and Stone Magazine for Consumers!
New to the Forum? Read this! :.: Click here to add your name to your signature.
"If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?." -John Wooden
oakview is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2012, 09:17 PM   #5
Steve C
Registered User
 
Steve C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 1,153
In my experience, a wire marker book is a lot handier than trying to use tape.
__________________
Steve
Steve C is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-04-2012, 06:34 AM   #6
Mountain Tile
Pashley Tile
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Allentown Pa
Posts: 3,086
Best way is to let the electrician do it.
__________________
Chuck












wwwpashleytile.com
Mountain Tile is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-04-2012, 07:47 AM   #7
Steve C
Registered User
 
Steve C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck
Best way is to let the electrician do it.
Easier said than done around these parts. It's not "let" the electrician do it, it's "get" the electrician to do it. Hard to find one who'll show up for such a demeaning, un-important little job.
__________________
Steve
Steve C is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-04-2012, 10:22 AM   #8
oakview
Retired Moderator - Owned by two rescued greyhounds
 
oakview's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oak View, CA
Posts: 3,137
In this case, I am the "electrician". I didn't have ready access to wire markers so I made up my own using white electrical tape - worked pretty darn good too. Markers + photos as suggested by Paul made the job a whole lot easier. After reconnecting everything, the tester shows all is good. Thanks everyone.
__________________
::DaveG::
The Tile and Stone Magazine for Consumers!
New to the Forum? Read this! :.: Click here to add your name to your signature.
"If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?." -John Wooden
oakview is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-04-2012, 10:31 AM   #9
John Bridge
Mudmeister
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Rosanky, Texas
Posts: 68,417
Send a message via AIM to John Bridge
I don't understand why you can't just let everything hang out of the box without disconnecting anything. Tape it all up so you don't juice yourself.
John Bridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-04-2012, 02:25 PM   #10
advertguy2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 502
^ One reason may be that putting up the drywall then cutting around the box with a rotozip is typically easier and neater than cutting before hanging. Can't use the rotozip if the switches and stuff are protruding from the box. Of course, thats just a guess because I'm terrible at measuring/cutting box locations and use the rotozip method all the time.
__________________
Dan
advertguy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-04-2012, 07:30 PM   #11
oakview
Retired Moderator - Owned by two rescued greyhounds
 
oakview's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oak View, CA
Posts: 3,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by advertguy2
One reason may be that putting up the drywall then cutting around the box with a rotozip is typically easier and neater than cutting before hanging.
Exactly - is always the way I do it. My dad bought me the tool years ago and have used it for that sorta task among other things. Handy little tool to have.
__________________
::DaveG::
The Tile and Stone Magazine for Consumers!
New to the Forum? Read this! :.: Click here to add your name to your signature.
"If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?." -John Wooden
oakview is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Stonetooling.com   Tile-Assn.com   National Gypsum Permabase


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anybody answer an electrical question lasvegaslenny The Mud Box 10 05-05-2010 11:37 PM
Electrical Question Marge Tile Forum/Advice Board 9 12-01-2007 07:59 PM
Electrical question Dave Taylor Tile Forum/Advice Board 13 03-18-2007 01:23 PM
Electrical question Robertp777 Tile Forum/Advice Board 9 08-05-2006 10:43 AM
Electrical question Sonnie Layne Professionals' Hangout 38 07-16-2003 03:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 John Bridge & Associates, LLC