Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 07-25-2015, 09:05 PM   #1
Fultron5

Foam backer board

Hi all,
I spent the day chasing a shower leak at my sons home. This is not my first rodeo I am no pro but have build several tile showers and this one is so poorly constructed i am surprised it ever was waterproof. We ended pulling out the base. What we found was to say the least interesting. The entire shower including the base uses a foam backer board I have never seen. It is blue foam with what looks like a fiberglass mesh on both sides. It appears the person who installed it put some sort of waterproofing on it before thin set and tile. However corners were not well sealed and the base wall joint was only sealed with a bead of some waterproofing caulk. Needless to say this is where the leak was.
My questions are what is this backer material?(sorry i did not gat a picture) If properly installed and it was not is it an acceptable substrate for a shower?
Our plan is to pull the whole shower and rebuild with mud base CBU walls and Schluter waterproofing.
Thanks for input
Jim
Unread 07-25-2015, 09:22 PM   #2
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man

Hi Jim, welcome. My guess would be Wedi board but I'm not certain. Can your son send you a picture for you to post?

www.davystephenstile.com
Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2015, 09:53 PM   #3
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, Jim.

I agree with Davy, sounds like Wedi to me, as well. That product can make a successful shower if properly done. I've seen it, but never actually built one of their showers. Pricy, too.

I'll wait for the photos.

My opinion; worth price charged.

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!