Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 02-26-2013, 11:20 AM   #1
Dogbyte

critique my shower setup.

We are redoing our shower by the seat of our pants. Nothing fancy at all, just wanting to avoid pitfalls, and trim the fat off the process as i understand it. Im a capable DIY guy but will concede im no pro for sure.

i will attach a rough drawing of our bathroom as it is NOW, and what we are trying to make it into....

we are basically taking the tub out, and replacing it with a standing shower, constructing a new wall high enough where water will not splatter out, but still let light in. New wall will be tiled on all visible sides. A curb will run from new wall to existing wall near the corner of the vanity, eg. shower entrace. Plumbing will stay where it is at, as will the drain, but the shower head will be piped up and over to the other end of the shower, coming down vertically out of the ceiling. We want to have a detachable shower head on the existing plumbing wall, for cleaning/misc.

The plumbing i havent fully explored yet. I believe i can manage a valve, to either divert water to the handheld, or to the vertical shower head...so im sure it can be done. Basically just like a tub setup we have now, but instead of water coming out of the faucet by default, it would come out of the vertical shower head, unless the you turn the valve and make it come out of the handheld, or vise versa.