Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 04-16-2020, 07:57 AM   #1
nheflin86

Shower niche location problem

Hello all,

First time posting on this forum, but it looked like there was a lot of good advice from knowledgeable people so I thought I would give it a try.

I am a complete newbie attempting my first bathroom remodel. Pretty much learning as I go and making plenty of mistakes. I am currently tiling the walk in shower and have a question about my niche location and how to make it look nice.

I used the kerdi membrane and kerdi niche for the shower. I tried very hard to place the niche where it would hit the grout lines, but apparently I am not very good at math. I will be off by an 1/8 inch horizontally and about 1/2 inch vertically. Because of the pattern we chose to lay the tile, I'm afraid it will stand out big time if the niche is off. We wanted to just continue the same tile into the niche and make it look seamless. Hopefully you can see from the picture what I am describing. Are there any options to fix it at this point? My thoughts were:

1) Just do the best I can and tile around it and live with the imperfection because I am a DIYer and not a professional.
2) Attempt to cut the kerdi membrane back and move the niche. This makes me very nervous to mess with my waterproofing. No one was more surprised than I was when I passed the flood test. Not sure I can strike lighting twice.
3) Find some type of trim (bullnose, etc.) to go around the edges. I bought the kerdi profile trim for the niche but I cant get it to line up right.
4) Fill in the niche and buy a stand alone bench for the shampoo.