Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 03-05-2013, 09:23 AM   #1
mxracer1983

Mapei AquaDefense w/ Fabric reinforcement??

Hey guys...I'm a newbie so take it easy on me haha. I've read a lot of threads on here and there's a TON of great information. I have a question that I haven't been able to find on here though.

I was at Menard's this past weekend and they had a Mapei AquaDefense diagram for a custom shower. They had it laid out as follows:

Deck mud mortar bed
Aquadefense
thin set
tile

I called Mapei and the rep told me that this was correct and that the aquadefense replaced the rubber pan liner. He suggested using the fabric reinforcement tape in the cracks and corners too. I was (and still am) skeptical about this after reading on the message boards on this site.

IF this is an appropriate way to build a custom shower, I would do mine this way:

Plastic barrier on the studs w/ CBU on the walls
felt paper
steel lath or mapei lath
mortar bed
fabric reinforced corners/cracks
cover with aquadefense

What do ya'll think?
Unread 03-05-2013, 11:16 AM   #2
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, Brian.

Only difference I'm seeing in your method is that you intend to use a moisture barrier behind your CBU walls and a bonded waterproofing membrane on the inside of the same walls, which I think is not a good idea. Either one is fine, both is not.