Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 02-20-2013, 09:56 AM   #1
LB5045
Know just Enough to be Dangerous.......

Re-grouting over new grout

Hello all,
I know this is probably been asked 100's of times but I'm new at this and have been searching and have found little on it. I have installed new porcelain "mosaic" tiles on the floor. I can't grout the whole thing at once because I have kids and it's the only bathroom I have. My question is the first section I grouted (toilet area) came out good, the height of the grout set well as did the color. I just grouted another section and the grout set further down than before. It also seems to be a lighter color. Could I just re-grout over the newly put down grout to cover what set too low? Also I seem to be getting quite a few holes developing after it dries. I see some when I am working the grout and fix that on the fly, but some small holes appear later. Thanks
Attached Images

Unread 02-20-2013, 10:13 AM   #2
John Bridge
Mudmeister

Send a message via AIM to John Bridge
Hi Leo,

I think if you just dampen the grout you can go over it with new grout. The longer you wait the harder it will be to get the new to stick to the old, though.
John Bridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-20-2013, 10:25 AM   #3
stevencholland
steve

Hi Leo, sounds like the grout was too wet on the second attempt. That causes a lot of holes in the grout. If your are mixing the grout with a power tool, slow the speed down. To fast can cause air bubbles.
Unread 02-20-2013, 11:47 AM   #4
gsr