Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 11-15-2022, 05:06 PM   #1
GalaxyWide

Bathroom remodel, tub to curbless shower

Hi all, since demolishing our bathroom over the weekend I've been doing a ton of research and reading in preparation for our first major remodel and first tile project. This forum has been a great source of info, and I'm sure it will continue to be as I have questions and find old posts.

For background, I'm an engineer and very much a DIYer, though I'm new to home projects - I've mostly worked on cars, powersports toys, etc. Residential construction seems very...vague compared to following a service manual for an engine rebuild, so it's been a learning experience!

Our old shower was a vinyl insert tub (with a pump and jets, I'm sure someone paid a boatload of money for it at some point but it's pretty pointless for us), and tile on the walls. The tile was horribly done - not a single one was flat, awful gaps, the grout could be scooped out with a fingernail, the niches were poorly planned, etc. We started out wanting to regrout, but that turned into a full bathroom remodel...oops! Upon pulling it off, we found water damage on the studs, etc so we're happy we did.

The room is now down to studs in the shower, and subfloor in the rest of the room. We want to do a curbless shower with a linear drain, both for appearance and to allow use of the floor tile we like, as it's 12x24.

I have a few questions: