Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 10-31-2022, 07:32 PM   #1
Cajun1

Any suggestions or critiques on my first shower build?

Hi, just recently found this forum from another plumbing forum that I frequent.
My wife and I are finishing up a house we’ve been building, mostly by ourselves.
I have no experience in most of the things we’ve done so far, but have been eager to learn new skills and it has been rewarding. With a lot of help from people like this forum it’s been possible and we are very grateful for the time that the experts share online.
With that said, it’s time to start on one of the more intimidating parts to me, the custom tile shower. I’ve been doing a lot of research on best techniques and there seem to be many opinions and differences on how people do things. Hopefully I’ve got a plan that will end with a functioning shower that doesn’t leak. I’m posting to get tips and guidance from those with the experience in this area. Thank you in advance.

Our shower space is 42”x44” stud to stud and 9’ ceiling on a concrete slab.
Here is my plan so far:
1.) Fill in drain box out area with mortar to make it flush with slab surface.
2.) Set bottom of drain.
3.) Build curb putting thin set on slab, setting bricks with thin set between?
4.) Thinset on slab then dry pack mortar preslope on top.
5.) Install liner overlapping curb and securing on outside of curb only with silicone or masonry screws?
6.) Galvanized metal mesh over curb and float with mortar mix?
7.) Dry pack mortar shower floor over liner.
8.) Cement board, tape, and mud
9.) Red Gard walls, curb, and shower floor?
10.) Thinset, tile, and grout

Name:  A8208843-5249-495B-B6BE-6343F75405A9.jpeg
Views: 141