Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 05-18-2020, 07:45 PM   #1
Macflreno

Curbless, waterproofing and materials questions

I’m new here and have been reading lots of threads on curbless showers, different systems and have some specific questions. I’m very new to this, so please excuse my lack of knowledge and probably incorrect terminology.

The master bath is a little over 8 x 8 with a step up tub, tiny 36” shower, single vanity and toilet. The house is a Florida ranch on a crawl space and wood frame. We are planning on taking down to studs and cutting into floor joists to allow for curbless shower.

Time is no concern and he will be doing all the work and has a ton of general construction experience (I have almost none, but can research!) As I just finished another bath Reno and kitchen Reno, budget is a huge issue. The cheaper the better, while still being quality and designed for long term.

I’ve attached a basic layout of what we want to do.

1. Curbless shower (4 x 5) with mud pan and linear drain and shower head on back of 4’ sloped floor. No shower door, but walls on 3 sides. Does this make sense? Is 4’ enough space to slope correctly with mud? Do I need to do 1/2” slope per foot or can I do 1/4” per foot? Does the shower head on the rear wall with the linear drain below work?
2. Waterproofing. What membrane is the best option? Is there any option that’s lower cost than Kerdi? Are there PVC liner options that would work? If we build our own mud pan, do I just put the Kerdi roll on top of that? What do I use outside of the shower? If I use Kerdi in the shower, do I have to use Ditra on the rest of the floor? Are there any other options? I’ve read to not mix systems.