Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 05-27-2022, 11:52 AM   #1
C. Daniel

Best way forward for crumbling grout?

Hi all, I've read these forums a few times and found them really helpful. This is my first time posting.

My wife and I recently hired a contractor to install a new bathroom, including shower tile. All the shower tile is installed over kerdi (the orange stuff). We noticed that less than six months after completion, the grout is crumbling between the floor tiles. The grout also seems to discolor pretty quickly (within a couple of weeks), though it can be easily scrubbed away.

From what I've read, crumbling grout is usually a result of poorly mixed grout or an "unstable" subfloor. The grout is only crumbling in part of the shower floor; not the rest of the shower floor, nor the tile floor in the rest of the bathroom, outside the shower.

I suspect (though am far from certain) the problem is poorly mixed grout, for a couple of reasons. First, building inspections in our area are pretty strict, so I'd think the inspector would have said something if the joists were too small, spaced too far apart, etc. Also, it turns out our contractor did questionable work in other areas, so I wouldn't be surprised if he didn't mix the grout thoroughly enough, or used the wrong ratio of grout:water.

My main question is: what would you recommend in terms of best next steps? Try to dig out the grout and re-grout? Tile over the existing tile? Something else?