Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Unread 02-16-2009, 11:36 PM   #1
Jager
Jager Custom Tileworks LLC

Bidding Help

Hello-

So i've been a tile setter for about 10 years now. I've been a contractor for about 3, but i've been working all 3 years for another tile contractor. This means i don't know ANYTHING about bidding!
Now that I'm venturing out on my own, i need a little advice.
My question:
I have to bid a very custom multi-million dollar home. Everything is stone. Window wraps, benches, shower niches, curbless trench drain shower pans. Not to mention the 4 sided 2 story fire place (of which i'll post some other questions pertaining to that later). So i'm thinking of bidding it at $20 a sq. ft. This would include all prep (including prep materials), setting, grouting, and sealing. It comes out to be about $15,000.00 (labor and prep materials) for 3 showers, a medium sized floor, and a fireplace. Does this seem to much to ask for (sq. ft. price)??
I'd love to hear some feed back.
Thanks again- Love this Forum!!!!!!
Jager
Jager is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 02-17-2009, 12:00 AM   #2
Old World Tile and Marble

hard to say without seeing the job firsthand sooo......give me the name and number of the builder,k??

you using a payroll company?comp and other ins?whats the income your currently trying to replace?how many hours do you think itll take to complete less your material costs labor burden etc?so many ?? sooooo....whats that builders name and #

you just starting out in this economy very brave!!
Unread 02-17-2009, 12:06 AM   #3
Jager