Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Unread 05-22-2016, 07:12 PM   #1
Just In Tile LLC

Steel trowel and resin float.

Since I'm in a small town wanted to see if there's any better products or fan favorites when it comes to these two hand tools. I've been using the same steel trowel and wood float for 6 years now and it's time to get another set.

Have a 16" x 3-1/2" laminated canvas resin float. (My wood float)
Wears extremely well doesn't warp with moisture has kept its sharp edges for years.

Use a 5"x12" xtralite marshalltown steel trowel.

Float mostly walls and a floor on occasion. Any feedback would be appreciated. I've seen some wide floats for floors and wonder if I should try one out or just stick to my setup?

Thanks in advance tile men and woman.

Last edited by Just In Tile LLC; 05-22-2016 at 07:27 PM.
Just In Tile LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 05-23-2016, 06:27 AM   #2
Dave Gobis
da Man!

I think types of tools are like underwear, everyone has their preference.
Dave Gobis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-23-2016, 07:51 AM   #3
jerrymlr1

Resin float would be my favorite underwear. Once discovered never looked back. Steel trowel has a different function. IMO.
Unread 05-23-2016, 07:58 AM   #4
Just In Tile LLC

Thats true Dave, I read somewhere CX said if they made a magnesium sharp edge float it would be the cats meow. That resin float is the closest I've found to something like that.

Guess you can't really get too "advanced" with a steel trowel and float hah!
Unread 05-23-2016, 09:33 AM   #5
Dave Gobis
da Man!