Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet


Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-08-2019, 12:26 PM   #1
Jsmallberries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tampa Bay Florida Area
Posts: 143
Check concrete floor for level?

Haven't needed this in quite some.

What is currently the best method to check for flat, not level, for concrete floors prior to tile install. And what corrective measures?

Any way to do this without spending too much?

I had an 8 foot aluminum straight edge, can't find it? Where to buy now, or is laser the way to go, marble, water pour, other?? Thanks
__________________
John
Jsmallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-08-2019, 12:35 PM   #2
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man
 
Davy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Princeton,Tx.- Dallas area
Posts: 31,310
Hi John. I use aluminum straight edges but you might find a straight 1x4 at the lumber yard if you're lucky.

I've used SLC with a primer along with a straight edge to fill the low spots. It really depends how bad the slab is. I've also mudded up many slabs with deck mud to get it flat if I have room for the added height. I've also used thinset for minor filling although it's not designed for this.
__________________
Davy

www.davystephenstile.com
Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 01:24 PM   #3
houndzilla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 168
do you have a laser level?

when I prepped my floor for SLC I mapped it on a 24" x 24" grid.

I set a datum point as 0" and then I took a decent long/stiff ruler with a corner spirit level and recorded the +/- change in height at each of the grid points.

The tightness of your surveying grid would rely on your method of flattening.

It's a little more intensive than just using a long straightedge but if gives you a real good idea of the condition of your floor, especially if you map it out on a scale floorplan.
__________________
George
houndzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 04:35 PM   #4
Jsmallberries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tampa Bay Florida Area
Posts: 143
Don't have a laser, the concrete floor has been paint over-sprayed, guess I'll need to scarify/ grind off paint prior to adding self leveling as needed. Just found my 8 foot aluminum straight edge,,,,don't lend out tools, Didn't think I could lose something that big
__________________
John
Jsmallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 01:58 PM   #5
Jsmallberries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tampa Bay Florida Area
Posts: 143
Houdzilla, I want to learn what you did, I will look into that. BTW my missing straight edge is a 10 foot 1x3 aluminum.

I found that what I thought was a high spot with a 4 foot level, is a low spot.

Hypothetically speaking, If one were not using tile, but a floating laminate floor
would one need to mechanically grind the floor and use a bonding agent with the self leveling mix. Hypothetically speaking of course.. you guys just know more
__________________
John
Jsmallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 12:00 PM   #6
Jsmallberries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tampa Bay Florida Area
Posts: 143
The room is 10'4" x 11'8.5"
Just checked with my 10 foot aluminum straight edge. . In side to side direction it's not more than about 1/8+ off. When I check it the long way it's just over 1/4" gap, just out of spec. On one end of the room, app 1.5 feet from the wall the long way is high, by 1/4 inch.
So if I add self leveling based on the straight edge placed the long way, it will be too high side to side in the middle
I assume,, I need to take down the one high side and re-check it, May not need any leveling.
It's hard to figure it out, any advice or tips will be greatly appreciated.

I ordered this for dust collection. Mainly used for home projects wood mostly, maybe an occasional small concrete grinding job Any one know anything about this product? Any good?

The Dust Deputy Deluxe Anti-Static Cyclone Separator 5 Gallon Kit

I already have a 7" grinder w/diamond blade & shroud,

What would be a good size shop vac to add?
__________________
John

Last edited by Jsmallberries; 05-10-2019 at 12:10 PM.
Jsmallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 03:47 PM   #7
Opus4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 25
While grinding my slab before tiling, I used that Dust Deputy kit with a large Ridgid shop vac & put them both on a dolly for mobility.

There was hardly any dust, except when I started the grinder but forgot to turn the vac on. I still wore a full face respirator mask, though.

I like it and also used it vacuum the dust while sanding spackle, running wood tools, etc.
__________________
Andy
Opus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 03:53 PM   #8
Jsmallberries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tampa Bay Florida Area
Posts: 143
What gallon size, thanks
__________________
John
Jsmallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 04:20 PM   #9
Opus4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 25
Mine was the 16 gallon model
__________________
Andy
Opus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 06:02 PM   #10
Tool Guy - Kg
Moderator -- Wisconsin Kitchen & Bath Remodeler
 
Tool Guy - Kg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oak Creek, WI
Posts: 20,953
Warped or twisted surfaces give you mixed results that initially seem confusing from the “X” to “Y” axis. Either run your straightedge on a bunch of angles to give yourself a truer idea of what’s really going on...

...or pull out the longest level you got. Snap a 2’ or 3’ grid on the floor. Start from the highest spot you can find in the rom.....then note the elevation changes from the high spot to the intersections of your grid. If you start from the high spot, you can put a stack of coins at the low intersections to help you leap-frog the level around the room. When your done, you’ll see where things are warped and what you need to shave down or fill.

Tool Guy - Kg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 07:13 PM   #11
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man
 
Davy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Princeton,Tx.- Dallas area
Posts: 31,310
If the high spot isn't very large, do some grinding on it. The cupwheel will eat it up.
__________________
Davy

www.davystephenstile.com
Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 06:37 AM   #12
Jsmallberries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tampa Bay Florida Area
Posts: 143
Thanks for the replies,

I need a new 7" angle grinder, any recommendations?, occasional use.

I had a Dewalt I think it was DW840, got way too hot and burned up while using it with a diamond cup wheel, couldn't handle it.
__________________
John
Jsmallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 08:07 AM   #13
UP_Builder
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Get a Milwaukee 9”. Super heavy duty and you can still use 7” wheels with it. I used one fitted with a 14” diamond blade for cutting concrete and it did very well!
__________________
Jake
UP_Builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 09:24 AM   #14
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man
 
Davy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Princeton,Tx.- Dallas area
Posts: 31,310
Hi Jake. Welcome to the forum.
__________________
Davy

www.davystephenstile.com
Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 09:50 AM   #15
Jsmallberries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tampa Bay Florida Area
Posts: 143
Grinding set up, see photo.

Ended up with 7" Hitachi, which is now Metabo. This would have work great, but the vacuum is an old dayton from grainger. Not working too well, poor suction power. Even with that, quite a lot of concrete powder spun into the dust deputy bucket. If I had a better vacuum and a dust shroud that fit better, this can be a pretty good substitute to the higher priced dust collectors.

BTW, I can't get the diamond cup off, no access due to shroud, any advice please.
Attached Images
  
__________________
John
Jsmallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Stonetooling.com   Tile-Assn.com   National Gypsum Permabase


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
concrete floor out of level 2.75" over 8.5' uhale Tile Forum/Advice Board 15 08-25-2010 09:05 PM
High spot in concrete/ trying to level floor ceramicus Tile Forum/Advice Board 9 11-03-2008 03:10 PM
How level does a concrete floor need to be? sparkymark Tile Forum/Advice Board 4 03-27-2007 02:20 PM
how to level concrete floor jdhagan Tile Forum/Advice Board 3 05-05-2005 01:42 PM
Level of concrete floor? pitterpat Tile Forum/Advice Board 7 09-27-2004 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 John Bridge & Associates, LLC