Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 02-07-2020, 05:36 AM   #1
Fox Mulder

Perpendicular plank subfloor

Good morning,

I’m a long time reader of JB for the excellent advice, and have been a member for a long time, but have rarely (if ever) posted.

I’m a residential builder, so I have more skills than your average DIYer, but I’m just doing some tile in my own home. It’s built in 67, 2x10 joists, about an 11 foot span. Deflecto meter says I’m good to go. Problem being, I have a plank subfloor. 1x10s that run perpendicular to the joists. It’s in good condition, I replaced a plank that had a nasty spike knot near the edge. I’d like to keep my height to an inch or so, so I don’t really want to lay OSB on it.

Long story short, I’m wondering what you guys would think about using 1/2 inch Goboard over the planks? On a wall install it can span 16 inchs, it seems like it would work with my floor. My thought was to screw the planks tight, then screw the Goboard as well.

I’m laying 24” x 12” ceramic on the floor. And it’s my house, so I’m not worried about the warranty so much, but I also don’t want to have issues. So if it’s dumb idea, feel free to say so, but if it’ll work, I’d like to hear that also. I know that I could cut the planks out and sheet the floor to maintain the height, but I have limited time to work on my own house, I do almost all of it alone, and we have a 3 year old daughter that likes to “help”. So the faster I can get this done the better for all of us!

Thanks in advance for the advice, I look forward to hearing from you all, even if it’s potentially more work!
Unread 02-07-2020, 07:18 AM   #2
ss3964spd

Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd