Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 02-21-2009, 04:43 PM   #1
jbs

Basement Project

Hi All,
I'm a bit of a newbie. I'm an engineer with a fair amount of experience with wood and I've done small very basic tile in a kitchen before but I've never undertaken a stone project of the scale. I've scanned thru the archives and found many of your posts very informative. Based on what I've read I've put together a plan but wanted to post it for a little critique. This project is travertine with radiant heat on top of a basement slab with no joints but a does have a small hairline crack with no vertical displacement. All together it is about 700 sq ft between two rooms and a hallway.

Here is my plan:
- Unsealed Slab(removed carpet glue residue)
- Latex Primer for SLC
- Edge perimeter with 1/4" thick sill seal
- Heating coil secured with hot glue gun
- SLC ~3/8"
- Modified thinset using 1/4" V trowel
- Ditra
- White Unmodified thinset
- 18" travertine tile with a diagnol pattern

A few questions I still have:
1) I like the look with a 1/16" spacer. Is this too ambitious for a 18" tile?
2) Any tricks for covering floor vents when pouring SLC?
3) I plan on laying the stone with a 1/2" square trowel. I'm thinking I also need to back butter each tile as well?
4) Do I need a field expansion joint? Largest area is 26'x'15'

Thanks
jbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-21-2009, 06:06 PM   #2
cx
Da Home Builder

Welcome, jbs. Please put a first name in a permanent signature line for us to use. If you go by those initials, pewt those in there so we'll know.

This the same floor you had trouble with last month? If so, have you scarified the concrete?