Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Unread 07-30-2018, 01:36 PM   #1
rctile

Pricing

I am new to the tile installation business and am having a tough time determining pricing. For example, what would you charge to tile 20 sq ft of 3x9 glass subway, not including tile and grout? And then would you increase the cost for installing a smaller subway herringbone pattern? I'm referring to individual tiles without mesh backing.

I live in Northern Virginia, very close to DC.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Best,
Rachel
rctile is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 07-30-2018, 01:48 PM   #2
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man

Hi Rachel, welcome. It depends on a lot of different things. Where are you installing this 20 sq ft of tile? On a shower floor? On a kitchen back splash? On a small patio? What surface are you tiling over and what kind of prep work will you have to do to it?

If you have set very much tile at all, you should know approximately how much time it will take. You also should already know about the materials involved in doing the job correctly. Multiply the hours you think it will take by how much per hour you want to charge and then add on how much you think materials will cost. That should give you an idea.

If you can't figure up what I explained then it might be best to start out as someone's helper for a while so you can learn more about it.

www.davystephenstile.com
Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-30-2018, 06:46 PM   #3
rctile