Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 04-20-2012, 08:09 PM   #1
Kaz

cold joint at floor-to-curb connection

hello - I have been reading through the library. A lot to learn. I recently bought an old house with a bathroom on a concrete slab. The shower has a brass drain that is embedded in the concrete.
The walls are some sort of flimsy formica that are caulked in at the floor connection. When I recently started to re-caulk that seam I was surprised to see that there was no curb behind the walls! With the mudded-in drain I cannot raise a new floor and curb over the existing floor. However, the shower enclosure is fairly large and I have been wondering about furring in (yes I'm a carpenter) the walls over a new curb that I would build along the three non-door walls. I was thinking about 4" thick, set up on a bed of thinset?
I am not sure about this solution. Any thoughts? thank you much. - Ken
Unread 04-20-2012, 09:04 PM   #2
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man

Hi Ken, welcome. I'm not sure I follow you. There are no curbs in the walls of a normal shower, only at the door. You might check out the "shower construction info" thread in the liberry.

www.davystephenstile.com
Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-20-2012, 09:12 PM   #3
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, Ken.

I'm with Davy. I sometimes play a carpenter on TV, but I got no idea what you're describing there, either.

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-21-2012, 05:37 PM   #4
Gordon Kaske
Bridgebuilder

I think