Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 03-27-2012, 03:11 PM   #1
Corey

Smooth Cutting Diamond Blade

Ok, this might seem like a simple question, but I have used 4 or 5 different diamond blades (all from Home Depot, or Lowes) and they always chip porcelain tile. Tiny chips, but chips, no less. I was in Bedrosians the other day and their displays have the same porcelain tile that I am cutting, and their cuts have absolutely no chips. Like they were cut with a lazer. The small diamond protrusions on the blades that I have used seem to nick the surface of the tile. Are there blades out there that do not have these diamond protrusions, or have super tiny diamonds? I'm not an expert on how the diamond blades are manufactured but something cut the tiles in Bedrosians and I want to know where to get that blade. Anybody?

Thanks for your help,
Corey

P.S. I have asked the associate at Bedrosians to find out what blade was used on the displays. I'll let you know what she says.
Unread 03-27-2012, 04:02 PM   #2
Shpedly

Corey, Are those, chips on the surface of the tile, or is knocking a chip or chunk, out of the bottom, at the end of your cut?

P.S. I'm sure, plenty of blade salesmen will chime in shortly.
Unread 03-27-2012, 05:41 PM   #3
James Powell

+1 on an answer..
Unread 03-27-2012, 07:17 PM   #4
jadnashua
Veteran DIYer- Schluterville Graduate

STAR Senior Contributor

If your saw blade and/or motor shaft or arbor has any wobble, or the tray is not aligned properly with the blade's, then you'll get chips. Also, if your water flow is not good enough or directed incorrectly, things will get too hot, and microexplosions caused by the rapid heating can cause chipping.