Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 05-10-2012, 01:27 AM   #1
jimbo76

What's a fair price for this tile job?

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here and I was wondering if I could get some advice? I just closed escrow on our first house and I wanted to replace the existing ceramic floor tiles in the entryway, kitchen, and downstairs bath with 24' x 24' travertine tiles. I'm actually ok with the way it looks now, but my wife insists the tile has to go. I'm attaching pictures of how it looks now below.

In the spirit of happy wife = happy life, I went ahead and got several bids for the job from 3 different contractors (I am not a do-it-yourself kinda person). The house was built in 1988 and I live in Southern California. The total area involved for the ceramic tiles to be replaced is 325 sq ft. The bids ranged from $3500 to $5000 for labor only (demolition of existing tile, laying and sealing the new 24x24 travertine over existing slab). We are to supply the tiles at our own cost.

I am new to home ownership and this will be our first home improvement project. As such, I am not familiar with what is considered a fair price for a job like this. Do these bids sound reasonable? I don't mind paying more to get the job done right, even if it means delaying the job until we can save up more money. I apologize in advance if I left out any pertinent information. Any input greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Jim
Attached Images

jimbo76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-10-2012, 03:48 AM   #2
Davestone
Florida Tile & Stone Man

Even in my area that's a fair price.If it's anticrack and mudjob.

http://Davestonestile.com
Davestone is offline   Reply With Quote