Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 03-20-2021, 05:50 PM   #1
SteveA

DensShield/Floor base for deck mud

Hello all new here. Beginning a custom shower and never done this type of work. Im a mechanic/engine calibrator by trade and wanted to give this a go. I have everything gutted to studs/Floor has 5/8 plywood with paper on it. My question is for installing densShield. I was planning on Installing that on the floor over the plywood and up the walls. I was then planning on doing mesh/deck mud then Kerdi drain, hydro-ban membrane and then hydro ban cementitious rolled on over that. Is the densShield on the floor as a base a bad idea and should I omit that step and deck mud directly on the floor with a vapor barrier? Thanks for any advice its greatly appreciated.

Steve
Unread 03-20-2021, 07:35 PM   #2
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, Steve.

1. Are you planning to tile bathroom floor outside the shower?

2. What is the spacing of the floor joists?

3. Does the plywood subfloor have T&G edges?

4. Why have you chosen DensShield? There is certainly no advantage to installing the DensShield on the floor under the shower receptor. Using it for your shower walls if you plan to use a direct bonded waterproofing membrane may be acceptable, but you'll wanna check the Laticrete requirements for that.

5. Why a Kerdi drain if you plan to use Laticrete's Hydroban membrane? Why not use Laticrete's bonding flange drain?

6. Why would you use a second waterproofing material over the first?

Let's start with that.

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2021, 07:57 PM   #3
SteveA

CX,

Thanks for the help.

I am tiling the bathroom floor as well.