Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 12-06-2004, 01:48 PM   #1
meredith

Moving a toilet

I'm thinking about remodeling my (very) small master bath and am considering expanding into an adjacent linen closet, which would give me an extra 2 feet. I would have to move the toilet and sink, however. Anybody know how much it would cost (approximately) to have a plumber move the toilet a foot or two?

I would like to create a larger shower and tile it (of course!) using the Kerdi system.

(Thanks for sending me the autographed book, John!)

Meredith
Monroe, WA
meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 12-06-2004, 02:03 PM   #2
Sean Helmi

Cost of moving toilet

I am NOT an expert but in fact we looked into this for our high-rise apartment. Moving the toilet is simple enough. The cost is re-locating the drain pipe. The cost is a matter of how accessible the drainpipe is and, secondarily, whether it is plastic or iron pipe. In our case the drain went through a concrete floor and the cost was prohibitive (not to mention having to get permission from the owner on the floor below us to access the pipe, make a new hole in the concrete, etc.)

For better information from the experts on this site I suggest you post the location, type and accessiblity of the toilet drainpipe.
Sean Helmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2004, 02:10 PM   #3
cx
Moderator emeritus

What Sean said.

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2004, 02:12 PM   #4
meredith