Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 08-07-2019, 09:28 AM   #1
MobileMarch567

Shower Drain on concrete basement too high?

Hello! I'm a total newbie, doing a complete remodel of my basement bathroom (floor, sink, toilet & shower). The existing shower pipe was dryfit but not cemented in (yeah, i know!) below the single piece shower base.

I removed the old piping (leaving the p-trap), then properly cemented in a new pipe, sticking up about 2' off the slab floor.

...then I realized the drain might be too high!! To make matters worse, there is a joint connection flush with the cement. Here are some pics:
Attached Images

Unread 08-07-2019, 10:10 AM   #2
speed51133

that goofy elbow at the top will make installing a drain very difficult. If you make your own shower pan you can make it thicker to give you room.

see the pic, you need some room for a straight pipe to connect. At least a good 4inches I would say

It is also hard to tell what is going on with your framing. The shower area looks sunken down a few inches.
Attached Images

Last edited by speed51133; 08-07-2019 at 10:27 AM.
speed51133 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-07-2019, 10:31 AM   #3
speed51133

check this out. it asks for the top of the drain straight pipe to be 2in below the subfloor. SO, make the shower pan thick enough out of drypack mortar to make up that difference I would say.

or

tear it open and re-do it normally. Why do you have that angled pipe in there? Where exactly is the P trap??
Attached Images

Unread 08-07-2019, 12:34 PM   #4
MobileMarch567