Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 12-06-2013, 10:15 AM   #1
newbi11

Converting Bathtub to shower

Hi all,

I've been lurking on this forum for awhile and I would just like to thank everyone on this forum for all the information that I am able to find.

I am currently researching on a project for converting my existing bathtub to a walk in shower with frameless glass doors. I have a few questions that I can't find the answers (or tutorial) to myself. Hoping some of you gurus can help me out here.

Just some background information, this is my first project and I am definitely a newbie. I am trying to do as much research as possible (to the details) so I know how to react when I find something unexpected when I open up walls and do my demos... considering I am new to the whole business, forgive me if I use the wrong terminology and go easy on me with the acronyms

1. I am hoping that I can use the Kerdi Shower kit, I am trying to find out what kind of drain pipe I have underneath the tub. I went to my basement and all the drain pipes exposed there are ABS pipes (black plastic) - does that mean it is most likely ABS pipes under my bathtub? When I purchase my Kerdi kit, should I go for ABS Kerdi drain or PVC drain and use a transition coupler (here's where my terminology gets messy ) for ABS > PVC? I will also need a reducer from 2" kerdi drain to current bathub 1 1/2" drain pipe. So should it be: Kerdi Drain > Reducer > Coupler > existing ABS?