Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 07-05-2021, 12:43 PM   #1
robothivenj

New to forum: introduction, bathroom reno plans, and saw/cutter advice.

Greetings all,

Fairly recent lurker / homeowner here that is going to attempt his first bathroom renovation including walk in shower tiling / shower pan, floor tile, and wall tile. This forum has been an invaluable resource to me so far, so for that I thank you!

I’m a homeowner that is not afraid of tackling improvement projects under the premise that I know I’m a total newb, understand up front that this may cost me money in fixing mistakes, and that everyone on this forum knows more than myself.

The bathroom in question is a decent size (10’x7’). The wife and I (mostly the wife) have decided on a vertically oriented, stacked subway tile (about 9 3/16 x 2 5/8”) for the shower and wall behind vanity, and a larger format 24”x24” for the floors.

At this moment I’ve been feverishly researching install, technique, equipment, shower pan (pre-fab hydro ban / revolutionary shower systems) vs. tried and true mud pan. I do have full access to the plumbing below as my basement is unfinished and it’s a first floor bathroom. I’ve decided on a hydro ban system for the shower and have the board and waterproofing material ready to go.

I’m sure I will have a ton of questions in the coming weeks and months, but at the present I’m trying to piece together all the tools and gear I will need. I’m the type of guy that doesn’t mind spending on tools, I like to spend once vs. buying cheap and regretting it. That being said, I’m not against purchasing something more affordable if it gets the job done.

I guess my first question would be: