Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 02-16-2015, 07:21 AM   #1
Jeff1976

Yellow Stains in Brand New Shower

Greetings, all. Newbie here. Thanks in advance for your advice.

I installed a marble tile shower in my master bathroom. After only one week of normal use, some (but not all) of the floor tiles began yellowing.

The tile is a white marble branded by The Tile Shop as San Dona. It’s installed upon a mortar bed of Michigan Mud floor mix and adhered with a white thinset called Proflex Platinum. The floor tiles came on 1 sq ft sheets with a fiberglass mesh backing.

I've allowed the stone to dry for over week with no significant change in appearance.

Any guesses as to what could be causing this?
Attached Images

Unread 02-16-2015, 09:26 AM   #2
CSS

What waterproofing system was used? That's moisture. Since just at corners I would guess they ran mud level then when sloping mud did not get slope all they way to edge of wall. Leaving small flat areas for water to absorb into tile. Or not enough slope or bird bath in slope. How did you treat the weep holes?
Unread 02-16-2015, 09:33 AM   #3
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, Jeff.

Pretty common complaint.

Is there a pre-slope under the "Michigan Mud" bed? Have you any "during" photos of the shower receptor under construction?

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2015, 10:04 AM   #4
Jeff1976

@CSS When you say it's moisture, what do you mean? I would think moisture would merely darken the stone - not discolor it. Also, do you think it is moisture from the top surface or from underneath?