Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Unread 07-12-2011, 02:30 PM   #1
tileam2000

Selling yourself

Hi, I have been doing tile now for 5 years for the same company. Work has been very slow with them and I am considering going out on my own and starting my own company. I have already been doing my own jobs on the side under the table for 2-3 years.
I have always felt that tile is like an art and you have to have natural skills (along with years of experience) to produce quality work and become a master at your craft. For example, one person can go to school to be an artist/painter and have all the textbook knowledge and 20+ years of practice and never be as good as somebody with a natural ability to draw. Same goes with music. You could study and practice scales on a piano or guitar for years and never be as good as some kid that just has this natural ability to play. So my question is when you are bidding on jobs alongside other guys with 25+ years of experience and you only have 5-6 years how do you sell yourself when on paper you are already at a disadvantage even though your skills may be better than the competition?
Unread 07-12-2011, 02:36 PM   #2
Levi the Tile Guy
Tile and Stone Contractor

Welcome Andy,

You need to be education on the technicalities of your business, develop a nice portfolio, and be charismatic. If a customer trusts you, you are already a step ahead. Never let them stump you on questions, and do the best possible work you can so every job you do will refer you.