Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 06-19-2018, 04:43 PM   #1
shooteneq1

Plumbing question on an old shower demo.

I am about to fully gut a bathroom in my house. It has tile 4' up the walls and a walk in shower and the entire thing is done in mud and wire lath walls and ceiling, built in 1959 and has original tile. I have lots of experience as a tile guy but somehow managed in 15 years to never do a demo of mud and wire lath walls, although I have not done actual tile work for a living for 10 years now. I know its going to be a pain to remove but is there an easier way that is better than taking my grinder to the walls along with a sledge and pry bars? I obviously would like to keep dust to a minimum. The walls need to be opened up anyway for some rewiring and also I am redoing the plumbing as well so keeping the walls isn't in the cards. To add insult to injury the wall on the opposite side is another bathroom that I will not be redoing until next year so I would like to keep the hammering to a minimum so I don't damage the bathroom on the other side of the wall. Any help is appreciated for techniques to make this demo a bit easier.
Unread 06-19-2018, 04:51 PM   #2
jadnashua
Veteran DIYer- Schluterville Graduate

STAR Senior Contributor

Cut the wall into manageable sections, wear good eye, hand, and body protection, if you're trying to keep anything, either remove it first, or cover and pad it well, as the stuff is heavy! The lath is really nasty stuff, so heavy gloves and good eye protection are critical. Get someone younger and stronger to do it, and supervise! Once you've got the lath severed, prying should do a lot of the work verses hammering.