Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Unread 09-04-2013, 08:07 PM   #1
rtstile

New Tile Contractor. Help!

Hello everyone! I'm new to this forum and I'm looking for some advice. I've been installing tile for over 10 years mostly in NJ and recently started my own installation business in Albuquerque, NM. I've been getting work from a "flooring company" and I don't feel like they are paying me fairly. My old boss never talked money so I'm not sure what is common when dealing with a place like this. Basically I do everything. Pick up the tile, grout, fiberock etc.. from their warehouse, rip out the old floors, prep the floors, remove and replace trim, tile, grout, and caulk. If they didn't order enough tile I have to go back to the warehouse to pick it up. I also have to bring all the scrap tile and carpet and whatever back to their dumpster. Lucky me I get to see the work orders and see how much they charge the customer for each thing and how much they actually pay me to do it. If they charge the customer $5 a sq ft they pay me $2.50. This does not include tile. Better yet to fiberock a floor they charge $3 a sq ft and pay me $1. Granted they provide the crappy fiberock and the even worse Custom Multiset mortar. They don't provide cement board screws or mesh tape which isn't cheap. They had me custom bullnose a few tile recently and paid me $4 each and charged the customer $12 each. Should I run for the door or does this sound about right. Please help!
Unread 09-04-2013, 08:14 PM   #2
Houston Remodeler
Pondering retirement daily

STAR Senior Contributor

Craig,

Welcome to the forum.