Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet


Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Unread 12-31-2020, 01:48 PM   #1
ejc_1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Schluter Ditra Heat Temp Probe Question

Can the temp probe wire be extended? for greater length? I need about 8 more feet. I believe this is 22 gauge wire.

I tried calling Schluter but they are either closed today or swamped with calls, was on hold so long it hung up on me. LOL!

Thanks for any help!
__________________
Ed
ejc_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 12-31-2020, 01:56 PM   #2
mykcuz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 68
My understanding is they don't want it modified, location of the probe and thermostat should be considered before install.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
__________________
Mike
mykcuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-31-2020, 02:20 PM   #3
ss3964spd
Moderator
 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 3,820
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Welcome, Edward,

Below is and copy-n-paste from the Ditra Heat installation instructions:

"The floor temperature sensor can be extended using an 18 AWG, 2-wire cable. The sensor wire itself is not made of building wire and therefore cannot pass through studs unless run through
a conduit. We recommend twisting and soldering the wires and using electrical tape to insulate them. There is no maximum length that is recommended, however the longer the extension the
greater the possibility that the quality of the signal (and resulting temperature sensing) will be skewed. Regardless of the method used, the resulting splice must comply with applicable building
and electrical codes. A loose connection between the extension and the sensor will result in a false reading or an error code."

Mine were too long, so I cut off the excess. If you need to embed the splice in the floor I'd use some heat shrink tubing to seal the splices.
__________________
Dan
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I recall correctly my memory is excellent, but my ability to access it is intermittent.
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-31-2020, 07:25 PM   #4
Gozo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 509
Quote:
If you need to embed the splice in the floor I'd use some heat shrink tubing to seal the splices
100% agree with the heat shrink tubing. I’d go further. Solder the wires at the splice and slick a sliver of hot melt glue in the heat shrink tubing. When you heat the tubing (hot air gun, hair dryer won’t do it), the glue melts and covers the raw connection and forms a waterproof seal under the shrink tubing. That way there’s much less chance of failure from the wet mortar or later flooding of the floor. Kind of a belt & suspenders approach.
__________________
Jeff
Gozo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-01-2021, 08:49 AM   #5
ss3964spd
Moderator
 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 3,820
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Marine grade heat shrink tubing will do the job, too, already has an adhesive in it that seals it to the wire jacket. A heat gun to shrink it is the way to go, but a match or lighter will do the trick, if you're careful, if you don't happen to have a heat gun.
__________________
Dan
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I recall correctly my memory is excellent, but my ability to access it is intermittent.
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-01-2021, 07:03 PM   #6
ejc_1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Thanks everyone, glad I checked back I did not receive any notifications. Thanks for the help!
__________________
Ed
ejc_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-01-2021, 09:48 PM   #7
cx
Moderator emeritus
 
cx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 91,866
If you're talking about notification of responses to your thread, Edward, you won't get any such from this site unless you subscribe to the thread and request such notification.

See Thread Tools near the top of the page.
__________________
CX

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-01-2021, 10:17 PM   #8
Kman
Moderator
 
Kman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Arkansas, Ozark Mountains
Posts: 11,743
And definitely run a secondary wire to a different place. It may not be the ideal place, but if your splice ever fails, at least you have a backup.
__________________
Kevin

The top ten reasons to procrastinate:

1.
Kman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-04-2021, 06:52 AM   #9
ejc_1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
CX I am subscribed, instant mail notifications. Nothing in spam folder either.

Thanks KMAN, I ended up not extending the lines for the primary and seconday (backup) temp probe lines.

Thanks for the help, glad I checked back again.
__________________
Ed
ejc_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-04-2021, 09:44 AM   #10
cx
Moderator emeritus
 
cx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 91,866
I looked in your profile and it does appear that you've properly subscribed, Edward, so apparently your email program has done something to offend the subscription gods. Don't know what to tell you about that there.
__________________
CX

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-04-2021, 09:59 AM   #11
ss3964spd
Moderator
 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 3,820
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
The email notifications can be spotty, Edward, sometimes I receive them within moments, other times hours.
__________________
Dan
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I recall correctly my memory is excellent, but my ability to access it is intermittent.
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2021, 05:51 AM   #12
ejc_1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Just in case some one else reads this, I got this response from Schluterabout extending the temp probe wires:

Hi Ed,

Yes they can, the cold lead can be extended as well.

Best Regards,

Kate Roberts,
Customer Support Team | Schluter Systems L.P.
194 Pleasant Ridge Road | Plattsburgh, NY | 12901
Tel: 888-472-4588 x6102 | Fax: 800-477-9783


Thanks, CX and SS3964SPD, I will just have to check in periodically.
__________________
Ed
ejc_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2021, 03:54 PM   #13
Elkski
Took the Schluter part 1 class my team won!
 
Elkski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wasatch front, Utah
Posts: 848
I thought the installation guide said both could be extended or shortened..

Remember don't let the dog lie on the thermocouple location. or put it where you mass toss a towel or rug.
Take pictures of your wire layout in case..
I have a megaohm meter I can lend you. you are supposed to test 3 times for warranty. one on the reel, once in position and after installation. I actually took my wire to a motor shop and they had a megaohm meter and tested it for me but I bought one for test 2 & 3.
__________________
Teddy

Last edited by Elkski; 01-05-2021 at 04:00 PM.
Elkski is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2021, 07:59 PM   #14
ejc_1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Thanks Teddy, no warranty anyway as I am an homeowner DIYing this. Yep no placement of a rug or anything else.

Thanks, I check this periodically for responses.
__________________
Ed
ejc_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2021, 08:24 PM   #15
Elkski
Took the Schluter part 1 class my team won!
 
Elkski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wasatch front, Utah
Posts: 848
A homeowner gets the warranty. AFAIK
__________________
Teddy
Elkski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Stonetooling.com   Tile-Assn.com   National Gypsum Permabase


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Modified Thin Set for Marble Tile Over Schluter Ditra Heat sfklaas Tile Forum/Advice Board 14 02-20-2019 11:38 PM
Ditra heat question chapinpark Tile Forum/Advice Board 45 01-27-2016 09:19 PM
Ditra Heat Question. My Dream Tile Forum/Advice Board 10 11-29-2015 05:47 PM
What temp do you set your electric radiant heat at? yds Tile Forum/Advice Board 8 09-17-2010 06:47 PM
Question for heat mats + Ditra kamik19 Tile Forum/Advice Board 1 11-21-2005 04:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 John Bridge & Associates, LLC