Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 08-21-2005, 12:16 PM   #1
nikkiwood

Dewalt DW861W (wet/dry 4 1/2" saw)

Apparently, this is a new offering from Dewalt, and I am wondering if any of you have seen or used it.

it looks to me as though it would be a safer, more easily controlled alternative to an angle grinder.

The link below offers a description. I am new to JB, so I aplogize if the link is not live.

http://www.toolsforless.com/cgi-bin/....pl?SKU=DW861W

I edited only to liven up the link. -- J.B.

Last edited by John Bridge; 08-21-2005 at 12:25 PM.
nikkiwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 08-21-2005, 12:33 PM   #2
John Bridge
Mudmeister

Send a message via AIM to John Bridge
Welcome aboard, Nikki. Glad you made it.

It looks like the same type of saw that is sold in Home Depot for $88. I think theirs is a Q.E.P. Unless the DeWalt is made in the U.S., which I doubt, it's pretty much the same thing. I'm currently testing a similar saw for Felker that they intend to maket in Lowes stores for guess how much. That's right, $88.

The water attachments on most of these little saws will not work with a water hose -- too much pressure. The Felker works with a hose. Don't know about the Q.E.P. I guess what I'm saying is that I would not spend the price of the DeWalt.

Here's a pic of the new Felker. It's not out yet, though. I'll be publishing a review on it in a few days.
Attached Images

John Bridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-21-2005, 03:19 PM   #3
tileguytodd
Official Felker Fanatic

Looks like a nice saw and Dewalt has a good reputation for circular saws.
Hmmmm, jeff didnt send me one