Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 09-22-2019, 09:20 AM   #1
BrendonTW

(Picture) Blocking vs adding extra joists prior to tile install

Hello all, newbie here. Homeowner, not contractor.

I am in the processing of adding a new bathroom to the second floor of our house.

I am attaching a picture. I am needing to know if I need to add blocking, or if I should add joists between or nailed directly to the existing joists. (Not sure what the term for that is).

Would prefer to just add blocking, but want to do it right, so I'll do whatever is necessary. Here are some details:

2x8 joists
11.5' free span (yellow line in picture is where beam is underneath in the garage)
wood is unknown but good condition
Defletion number using john bridge calculator scores me at 275. I would prefer to be well above 360 because I like going conservative)

All areas where floor is removed will be tiled (15x8 approx)

Area A is shower (approx 55x55 inches) - schluter shower system going here and tiled floor and 8' tall walls (probably 750 pounds or so ? when all is said and done)
Area B is water closet - toilet room
Area C is main bathroom area, double vanity and open floor space, no tub
(C also points to some supports to keep joists from twisting, not sure if these are still necessary when blocking or additional joists are added?)

Notice the shower is installed directly above the beam, and is also sitting immediately adjacent to the load bearing wall that the beam sits on. (not in the middle of the beam span)

I am planning on installing 3/4 ply subfloor as well as 3/4 ply underlayment prior to installing DITRA.

Looking for advice on what to do to beef up the floor.