Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Unread 08-06-2010, 06:46 PM   #1
Shawn Prentice

Order of operations for multiple units of Spectralock

I will be grouting a job Monday that will take about 4 full units of Spectralock. This is my first time doing an area that requires more than 1 full unit. Could someone please advise me or link me to a thread on how to approach this.

I think I'm supposed to mix one unit at a time, but do I complete the clean-up (first and second) before mixing another? Or do my first cleaning, then mix up another and run that out? I know if I don't do this in the right order I will most likely create problems for myself.

Thanks for the help.
Unread 08-06-2010, 08:12 PM   #2
dhagin
builder, anti-builder, rebuilder -- Retired Moderator

Floor, ceiling, walls, wide open, cut up???? My method would change somewhat depending on what you've got...

I typically premix all part C's. Then spread and initial clean 1st unit. Depending on how long that takes and temperature, I'd probably spread (& maybe initial clean) 2nd unit before final cleaning 1st. I'm usually conservative on the 1st unit to gauge how things go, then adjust from there.

Last few showers were almost a full commercial unit and that's how I did it, except I didn't premix all the C's as there were lots of walls, angles and ceiling to break things up - never had color issues with Spectra Lock.

With another competent body, I may spread 2 units at a time. These are typically very sweaty days for me....

"the road to hell is paved with osb, mastic, pre-mixed latex 'grout' or 'thinset', "
dhagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2010, 08:17 PM   #3
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man