Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet


Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Unread 03-03-2021, 06:38 AM   #1
friborg11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia Suburb
Posts: 11
Ditra Heat Wiring 240V

2 quick questions re: wiring a 240V line for a Ditra Heat installation.

(1) I'm renovating my kitchen and changing my range from electric to gas. So now I have an unused 10 gauge circuit -- is this 240V? It's connected to a 60 amp double breaker. How do I know for sure it's 240V?

(2) Assuming the unused range circuit is 240V, can I use this same line to power the required 240V option for the Ditra Heat thermostat/cable?

Thanks!
friborg11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 03-03-2021, 06:46 AM   #2
Tool Guy - Kg
Moderator -- Wisconsin Kitchen & Bath Remodeler
 
Tool Guy - Kg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oak Creek, WI
Posts: 22,571
Yes, it’s 240v. It’s achieved by using (2) 120v lines, one from each side of the bus bar in the breaker box. While you don’t need to test, you could by using a multimeter from each of the two hot legs in the receptacle to ground and when each of the two measures 120v (it’ll actually measure a little less), there’s your proof. Yes, you can use this. But with you asking a basic question like this, I hope you don’t take offense when I suggest a qualified electrician.
__________________
Tonto Goldstein... but my friends call me Bubba

Help an awesome summer camp!
Tool Guy - Kg is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-03-2021, 01:57 PM   #3
redlude97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 60
Yes you can...but I assume it located behind your range so make sure there is enough length so that you can reroute the power able to the thermostat location otherwise you'll need to put in a junction box somewhere and it might be easier to rerun the wire to keep it away from the cooking area
__________________
Hai
redlude97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-04-2021, 08:25 AM   #4
ss3964spd
Moderator
 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 4,077
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
You aren't likely to get that 10g line into a standard wall box where the floor thermostat will be located, and if I remember correctly, you won't be able to connect it to the thermostat. You certainly don't need 60 amps.

You're going want to change that to 12g or 14g - depending one how many amps your install will draw and swap the breaker to match.
__________________
Dan
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I recall correctly my memory is excellent, but my ability to access it is intermittent.
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Stonetooling.com   Tile-Assn.com   National Gypsum Permabase


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing Ditra Heat & Strata Heat components jutsin Tile Forum/Advice Board 5 01-10-2019 10:19 PM
Ditra Heat wiring JWolfe75 Tile Forum/Advice Board 3 08-19-2018 09:59 AM
Ditra Heat Wiring HT13 Tile Forum/Advice Board 23 06-14-2017 06:56 PM
True Comfort 240V Rong Peng Tile Forum/Advice Board 4 08-21-2009 10:23 PM
Wiring in floor heat MX-Brad Tile Forum/Advice Board 5 12-28-2007 01:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 John Bridge & Associates, LLC