Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet


Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Unread 04-07-2008, 01:42 PM   #1
jaxkewl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 27
multiple nuheat mats nad other questions

if i decided not to get the custom made nuheat mat, how many can i chain together? kind of like a square, rectangle, square shape for my master bathroom.

also how do you connect from one mat to another to another? do i need a special connector/adapter?


and finally what if there are some parts that will not have any nuheat matting underneath. this spot would be lower than the spot with a mat. so then do i build up the thinset to be level with mat?
__________________
-martin from kent, WA
jaxkewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 04-08-2008, 08:03 AM   #2
jaxkewl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 27
anyone?
__________________
-martin from kent, WA
jaxkewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2008, 08:15 AM   #3
bbcamp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 30,274
http://www.nuheat.com/support/documents.html

There's an installation manual that says only 3 mats can be wired together in one box. There's also a tech support number to call (1-800-788-9276).

I'm pretty sure that you cannot daisey-chain the mats together. Rather, the wiring for each mat must extend out of the floor to a common box, then to the thermostat. Total wattage must not exceed the rating of the 'stat.
bbcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2008, 10:04 AM   #4
jaxkewl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 27
thanks, it wasnt clear to me that individual mats could be 'hooked' up together.

how about areas that have no nuheat mat. do people just build up the thinset or use SLC to make everything level with the areas that do have the mat?
__________________
-martin from kent, WA
jaxkewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2008, 10:09 AM   #5
bbcamp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 30,274
Quote:
Do people just build up the thinset or use SLC to make everything level with the areas that do have the mat?
Yes.
bbcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2008, 10:30 AM   #6
Dave Taylor
Retired Moderator - Veteran DIYer -- Schluterville Graduate
 
Dave Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St Marys County MD
Posts: 7,381
Hi Martin......

Here are some quotes from the Nuheat website Bob gave you earlier.

*****************
There are over 60 standard sizes of Nuheat electric floor heating system mats that can be arranged to fit almost any room.

*****************
Nuheat is the only radiant heat system that gives you the option to have custom mats made specifically for rooms with angles or curves.

So.... it kinda' looks like you measure the floor first.... then pick one of sixty Nuheat standard wiring formats that will fit, or have a wiring format custom made.

In either case..... there should be very little (if any) flooring area without Nuheat cabling.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Dave T (DIY'er)
Welcome to "Tile Your World", the friendliest forum on
the net.
Dave Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2008, 01:18 PM   #7
superchunk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 177
Hey Martin,

Before you get too far in planning, I just wanted to quickly add some things I learned in planning my bathroom floor (from the WarmlyYours folks).

In your layout, you should try to avoid having the wires go under fixtures and cabinets. I know it sounds obvious, but in doing the layout, it can sometimes seem unavoidable and then you end up wondering how much it matters. Apart from the fact that the heat isn't doing you much good under there, the heat can, over time, slowly damage heat sensitive matierals (e.g. laminate cabinet). The wires themselves and ceramic/porcelain (e.g. toilet) will be fine. Also, you should try to keep the wires several inches from the toilet's wax ring - Don't want that softening too much.
__________________
Mike
Portland, OR

Last edited by superchunk; 04-08-2008 at 01:27 PM.
superchunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2008, 02:17 PM   #8
jaxkewl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 27
excellent, thanks.
__________________
-martin from kent, WA
jaxkewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2008, 09:15 AM   #9
jaxkewl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 27
what thinset to use if you are doubling up ditra layers?

typical ditra installation from bottom up would be sublfloor + modified + ditra + unmodified + tiles

how about if I add an extra layer of ditra to bring up the floor height

subfloor + modified + ditra + ?? + ditra + unmodified + ditra.
__________________
-martin from kent, WA
jaxkewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2008, 09:21 AM   #10
bbcamp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 30,274
Un-modified is fine.
bbcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2008, 09:41 AM   #11
ceramictec
Tampa Florida Tile Contractor
 
ceramictec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 26,468
Ditra is only an 1/8" thick...how much do you need to build your floor up ?
__________________
Brian
........
..........Tampa Florida Tile Installation
..............^^--Check out our Blog--^^
Tampa, Florida installer of Schluter Kerdi/Kerdiboard waterproofed showers
Tampa, Florida installer of Laticrete HydroBan/HydroBan board waterproofed showers
ceramictec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2008, 09:55 AM   #12
DC_INC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mississauga, Ontario - Canada
Posts: 91
That is one expensive way to thicken a sub-floor ! You are probably going to run into waves after the install. Be very careful when matting the second layers fleece into the thinset - make sure to use stepping boards on top of the second layer when installing tile.
__________________
Dave C.
DC_INC is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2008, 09:59 AM   #13
ddmoit
Veteran DIYer -- Schluterville Graduate
 
ddmoit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SE Tennessee
Posts: 8,884
A bunch of us learned back in September that a thicker version of Ditra is in the works.
__________________
Dan - a DIYer in SE Tennessee
ddmoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2008, 10:16 AM   #14
ceramictec
Tampa Florida Tile Contractor
 
ceramictec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 26,468
beside the cost you can do it. but if your building up more then a 1/4" I would use either a SLC or 1/4" Hardi and then the Ditra.

like Dan said the Ditra XL will be out soon.
__________________
Brian
........
..........Tampa Florida Tile Installation
..............^^--Check out our Blog--^^
Tampa, Florida installer of Schluter Kerdi/Kerdiboard waterproofed showers
Tampa, Florida installer of Laticrete HydroBan/HydroBan board waterproofed showers
ceramictec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2008, 10:24 AM   #15
jaxkewl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 27
1/8" is all i need in a few spots. i have left over ditra from a previous installation i can use.
__________________
-martin from kent, WA
jaxkewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Stonetooling.com   Tile-Assn.com   National Gypsum Permabase


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 John Bridge & Associates, LLC