Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 10-17-2020, 03:01 PM   #1
SC2020

Flaking Mortar Bed

Hi,
New to the forum, thanks for having me. I’m renovating my bathroom and installing a 34” x 34” shower. I’ve tiled floors in the past with no issues but this is my first time prepping and tiling a shower. I’ve read a lot of posts and watched several videos while I move along through the project. I mixed my preslope bed as instructed with a 5:1 sand to Portland ratio and sloped 1/4” per ft and everything went just fine. I installed the Oatey 40 mil pan liner as per the directions with no issues, then I mixed my mortar for the final bed at the same 5:1 ratio. I laid the bed starting from the perimeter and worked my way towards the drain, the bed ended up slightly over 1 1/2” thick. Everything seemed to setup fine until around 72 hours later when I rubbed my hand over the mortar bed and the top layer seems to flake/crumble. I’ve read a few posts of people who’ve had a similar issue and the responses range from grab a hammer and redo it to it’s fine just go over with a coat of thin set.

The crumbling is not as bad as other posts where they say it goes down 1/4” or more, it’s more just the top layer flaking off. There are no cracks and it’s solid to stand on. My original plan before this hurdle was to go over everything with Redgard before tiling. My fear is obviously the tile won’t stay adhered if the floor is crumbling. Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks!
Attached Images

Unread 10-17-2020, 04:57 PM   #2
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, SC.