Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 08-06-2020, 06:38 PM   #1
mouseandcat

waterproofing of shower/tub surround (amateur)

Hi all, wondering if I can get feed back on the bathrub/shower surround part of my bathroom remodel. I have read quite a bit of advice about waterproofing the area and thought I could ask for peoples' experience and guidance.

Background
- 'long' shower wall (https://i.imgur.com/If66TyV.jpg)
- home built in 1943
- 2x4 studs (nominal)
- i demolished all walls in bathroom down to studs
- i have no prior experience with construction/diy work but am learning (went so far as to buy plywood and cement board to practice tiling)

steps
- check that studs are 'in plane'
- check for squareness of the studs around the tub
- fill with insulation/something to dampen sound (the shower wall shares a wall with our bedroom)
- fill in 'layers' (going from outermost to innermost relative to the tub/shower)
adjacent room's drywall
2x4 stud
inslation of some sort (sound proof for adjacent room)
<---water proof layer--->
mortar
tile + grout

My research leads me to consider these options for my waterproof layer
(a) cement board (e.g. durock, hardiebacker) + roll on water proofing (e.g. redguard, truguard)
(b) drywall or cement board + kerdi membrane
(c) kerdi board + kerdi bands

I gather that kerdi products require some level of practice/experience. Hanging cementboard and slathering on redguard seems pretty straight forward. Cementboard + redguard seems to be much more forgiving for 'sloppiness'. I worry about using the right amount of mortar and all the mortar for the kerdi strips being level.