Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 04-30-2020, 11:23 PM   #1
Billwiser

Did I break all the rules?

Let me start by saying that my profession is landscape construction. I primarily work outside. I had the help of a friend who did interior construction. We gutted the old bathroom to the studs. To do the shower we sistered new studs to the existing ones and stapled roofing felt to the walls and floor. We poured a mud pan sloping to a linear drain. We used what I assume is the equivalent to redgard for the liquid membrane, making sure to tape seams and corners. Curb and half wall cap were mortared and siliconed. All thinset is latex modified.

I'm embarrassed to say that this project has taken 3 years to finish. I finally got around to grouting the shower with quartzlock2 and as I was about to grout the floor I noticed one tile sounded hollow. After breaking the tile out and trying to gently remove it, I accidently tore a section of the membrane. The tub of liquid membrane I have has been climate controlled in the dark for two years, but I'm hesitant to use it. I imagine sealing the hole with silicone is probably not ideal. Should I buy a whole tub to fix this? Should I rip this all out? How badly have I screwed the pooch? I am learning that I probably did A LOT wrong here. I'm at the mercy of you guys. Looking forward to any advice.
Attached Images

Last edited by Billwiser; 05-01-2020 at 06:27 AM.
Billwiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 05-01-2020, 12:21 PM   #2
jlbos83
Really Cool Weekend Warrior