Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 09-20-2004, 08:29 AM   #1
saxman

Wall Slate install over styrofoam?

Hi experts, and thanks for any advice you can offer. I'm a builder, finishing my own custom home. It's built from ICF's (insulated concrete forms), which have a 7" concrete wall with ~2" of styroam form on each side of it. The form has plastic "form ties" every 12" which make a "stud" which can be used to screw or nail drywall, siding, hardibacker, etc. I have a stairwell in my entry where I want to install 12x12 Chinese slate on the wall, in a running bond pattern with no grout joints. It will be 18' high from basement floor to ceiling, so there is some weight there. Have any of you ever installed directly on top of foam, or should I use drywall or Hardibacker, screwed to the "studs", for a better sub-base? What adhesive would you recommend in this application? I used this same slate as a fireplace surround, on top of Hardibacker, and it worked well, but that was over a conventional stud wall. You've got a nice forum, thanks for helping.
saxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 09-20-2004, 08:55 AM   #2
bbcamp

I'd use either drywall or hardibacker on the walls. I don't know of any thinsets that will bond to styrofoam, and I'm not sure that mastic won't dissolve it either.
bbcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-20-2004, 09:08 AM   #3
cx
Moderator emeritus

What Bob said.