Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 06-15-2007, 01:14 AM   #1
diggity

Question Tile over concrete on outdoor patio - need advice

Hello,

My name is Doug and I'm preparing to lay tile for the first time. I've read through a lot of this site and it's been very educational! But since I'm brand new to this, I'm hoping some of you smart folks can help me with a few questions.

First a little background... The project is to tile over a concrete patio in our backyard (near Seattle, WA). The area is about 800 sq ft overall, divided into a few small sections, maybe 20' at the longest dimension. I think I read that expansion joints are only needed over 30', so no concern there. The slab is very stable -- it's 6-8 years old and has no cracks. There is a seam where the original slab was added to - I will need expansion joints here. Water doesn't pool anywhere on the patio and it has a slight slope to it (away from the house).

Tile selection: We have large evergreen trees overhanging the patio, so falling branches and debris is a concern. Based on a few threads I read here, we plan to select a "color through" porcelain/ceramic frost-proof tile with an outdoor texture to avoid slips. We like the look of slate, but since it doesn't stand up to frost well we will look for a porcelain/ceramic look-alike. We like the look of big tiles, so we'll probably go with 12" or 18" square tiles.