Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 11-18-2012, 09:05 PM   #1
pradoart

Hesitant to go forward with exterior tile install

I'm an artist who is about to install a large-scale mosaic tile mural for an exterior facade that has been spec'd with the laticrete Blue 92 waterproofing membrane product. After the subs installed it, there were bubbles. Some got repaired but there were still bubbles when they added the cement bond skim coat. Problem #1. Next issue, the product they used was Laticrete 317which requires an additive for exterior applications. Problem #2: no admix, just water was used.

I'm noticing some bubbles under the skim coat which are moving to the touch. Laticrete's website advises how to get rid of them, but with the skim coat how does this get fixed? Should it be a patching job or does the 317 need to get totally removed? (FYI, It is 2 days old.) If so, how does it get removed without further damaging the waterproof membrane? Will that have to be redone as well?
Unread 11-18-2012, 09:15 PM   #2
Houston Remodeler
Pondering retirement daily

STAR Senior Contributor

Prad,

Welcome to the forum.

Can you tell us a little more about the substrate?

Sounds to me like the folks responsible for the layers you are working over didn't get it right. Why would you work over this mess and not have it done correctly? Without further information, its likely the bubbles were caused by water trapped below the 92; lack of cure time, weather....

For when DIY isn't such a good idea...
Houston TX area Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

http://CabotAndRowe.com
Houston Remodeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-18-2012, 09:22 PM   #3
pradoart