Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 07-03-2008, 12:39 PM   #1
Tile Nashville
Mike in Nashville

Replacing Acrylic Shower with Kerdi Shower Set

Hi,

Been lurking like many for a while and really impressed by this forum and the people who contribute and make it great. I'm posting my first post here to outline my project and post some initial questions (which will likely grow as I move forward of course!). This is my first shower/tiling job but I'm a woodworker (hobby) and think I'm generally very handy .. we'll see how it works out!

I did first demolition - removed old acrylic shower walls, drywall backing and glass enclosure (it is a neo and I'm making it a square shower). Removing acrylic tray today and checking floor level under shower. Walls are pretty close to plumb and will sister to get to fully plumb. I plan on using CBU on the walls (even though I know I don't have to) and the Kerdi shower pan kit (48x48 cut down a bit to a square which fits my space -- approx 42x42). I know many suggest mud but I think my floor will be fine for just using the kerdi shower pan. We have a 1929 home so are doing a more traditional shower with 3x6 subway tile, thin black tile border at top and ceramic chair rail on very top. The shower will have two tiled walls and then glass enclosure installed after. And I did buy both the Tile Your World book and Kerdi e-book -- Thanks to John for sending so quick.

Plumbing. Today I plan on finishing the demo and rough in the plumbing. Question 1 is relates to the the valve and its plastic shroud. Given I'm using CBU and kerdi and then the tile, should the shroud sit proud of the CBU? By how much? I'm using a single handle valve unit (Danze brand).