Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 04-09-2020, 09:24 PM   #1
patrick_here

Kitchen Backsplash project

I'm going to be doing a backsplash in my kitchen. I'll be using 6" high x 24" wide "Dekora Porcelain" Ledger panels from MSI (corrected link). The substrate is just painted drywall (and the countertop is granite). The drywall is textured drywall (light stipple texture). Though I was a construction tradesman many years ago, I am a newbie to tile. There are three aspects of the job that I feel slightly uncertain on:
  • The paint on the drywall is adhering well; it isn't chipping or anything ...I suppose I could just use mastic/adhesive right over the paint . Nevertheless, I'm planning to rough-up the wall by running narrow strips of 40-grit sandpaper over it so that I have 1" roughed-up bands with relatively undisturbed 2" stripes of wall between them all the way up. The 40-grit sandpaper leaves scratches going right down to the drywall paper (or texture).
  • I'm thinking that it would be okay to use Mastic instead of Thinset. Part of the reason I'm leaning toward mastic instead of thinset is because if panels (or tiles) are adhered to drywall with thinset and later have to be removed (unlikely but it could happen), the drywall is almost guaranteed to be destroyed in the process whereas in a mastic installation they might be more removable (ie: without destroying the drywall). The countertop is granite and the backsplash doesn't even go near the sink area so there's no reason to believe that the backsplash installation would be subjected to moisture.