Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 08-10-2022, 08:53 AM   #1
gambrose

Installing Mosaic Hex Tile —*Mix and match?

Hi there, new here I am restoring a 1914 Craftsman bungalow that was vacant for the past fifteen years. It needs everything! I'm not an architectural historian purist, but there are some things that are classic and rectified hex tile is one of them. I'm also an artist (with the bank account to match...) so affordability is important.

I found an affordable (compared to American Restoration and Heritage) source for white rectified tiles, which are arriving today. I would like to do some small colored patterns in them, so I'll buy a few solid colored sheets from either American Restoration or Heritage. Here's my dilemma that I'm looking for advice on:

—*Heritage Tiles are the same thickness as the tiles I've sourced. I think they would fit pretty seamlessly on to the mesh and I could lay them down in sheets. I just don't love their colors.

—*ART tiles are 2mm thicker but their colors are so much more amazing... Is there a way I can use these and still have a (relatively) flat floor? Beating just these tiles in a little further? I assume they are too hard to sand down in any DIY way.

Keep in mind that I am new to installing tiler but am a fairly capable DIY-er in other aspects of my house. Would I be flying too close to the sun if I tried to integrate these thicker tiles?

Thanks in advance for your advice.
Unread 08-10-2022, 08:57 AM   #2
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, Grace.

What is the application for these tiles (wall, floor, backsplash, other)?

What is the intended substrate?

I think your proposed installation might be problematic.