Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 07-09-2004, 02:04 PM   #1
KDurkin

Deflection values for floors

I'm very new to tiling, and don't plan on doing much other than around the house and helping friends. (Classic DIYer) I understand the idea of deflection based on span, joist size, etc, and have found your calculator helpful, BUT have a question: What loads are the deflections based on? Example: Ceramic tile is recommended to have a max. deflection of L/360. Based on the span, joist size and spacing, but there's never a mention of weight on the floor (load). The more load, the more the floor will deflect. So I guess there must be some assumption of load when calculating deflection and whether a floor is beefy enough. Sorry if this is rather rambling, I'm just curious if there is an assumed "standard" live load and dead load on the floor factored in.
KDurkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 07-10-2004, 08:24 PM   #2
Jason_Butler
Tile Setter

I've emailed our injuneer' to give you the specifics...

Hopefully he'll drop in soon.

Jason
Unread 07-10-2004, 09:54 PM   #3
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, KDurkin, give us a first name, eh?

I'm reasonably sure that when Injineer Bob and DaveM built the Deflectolator (is that a great tool, or what?), they used the minimum residential spec of 50 pounds per square foot; 10 pounds dead load and 40 pounds live load. That's assumed to be an evenly distributed load and is usually an adequate spec for most residential applications.

Keep in mind that we're talking minimums here, but I know Bob was fairly conservative with his calculations.