Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 04-15-2015, 07:16 AM   #1
highschoolhank

First time thinset user

I am tiling a kitchen backsplash using porcelain tiles approximately 6" x 24" applied horizontally. The tiles are a bit over 1/4" thick. The substrate is sound sheetrock though the surface has some roughness due to what I think is some old, dried out contact adhesive.

I'd like some recommendation on the thinset to use and the size of notched trowel. Although a pro would presumably apply the thinset to a big area and set several tiles, since this is my first time using thinset and large porcelain, I was planning on back buttering the individual tiles and just setting a couple to start with. There will only be about 20 tiles in total. Will back buttering work?

I will have a ledger for the first course of tile. Assuming I mix the thinset to the proper consistency should I need to take other measures such as taping to hold the tile to the substrate while the thinset dries
Unread 04-15-2015, 07:55 AM   #2
Carbidetooth
Hmmmmm

Hank, clean the wall with TSP, maybe rough it up a bit with 80 grit if glossy and you're ready to go.

Custom's Versabond is available at HD and will work just fine. 1/4 x1/4 square notch trowel should work, but pull first one back off to check for coverage. I often back butter tile on backsplashes. On small areas, it's just easier than trying to comb the wall. You'll be surprised at the immediate holding power of thinset, I doubt you'll need tape.