Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 11-11-2013, 11:55 AM   #1
firedwet

Combing thinset into triangles of diagonal layouts

Hi all.
Yeah, I'm an engineer., but please don't hurt me

I've read quite a few posts, but haven't found answer to this.

It's pretty straight forward to fill Ditra waffles, comb straight ridges in and back butter my 18" sq. porcelain tiles, but dealing with all those cut triangular edge pieces seems another matter.

I'd thinset over larger areas at a time to comb straight through the triangles, but then skinning over starts to concern me and you still end up with 45 degree angled edges/walls here and there.

1. So, how do you pros comb those straight?

2. Or, for the triangular pieces, should I just fill the waffles, scrape Ditra flat and comb the BACK of the tiles after keying thinset into them?

3. How long have I got from when Laticrete 317 was filled into the waffles beyond the current course, before I go back over them with combing or a combed back tile? Open time? Pot life? Wait 24 hrs?

Thanks so much for this wonderful resource!
Unread 11-11-2013, 02:56 PM   #2
jwmezzanotte

If Im setting the cut pieces as I go then I'd have the thinset already combed there as I work

If I'm going to leave the pieces out and set them later (I do that sometimes when its convenient) then I would do #2. Notching the back works good, just fill the ditra with margin trowel or whatever trowel you can get in there
jwmezzanotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-2013, 05:57 PM   #3
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, Keith.